The Darlington Tennis Club held their 2017 Championships over the long weekend in June – we had 47 entires in 6 divisions and it was a fantastic weekend of tennis, culminating as usual with the ladies and mens singles finals. Congratulations to Alicia Kluck – our new ladies champion after tough matches against Rosie Atkinson, and last year’s winner, Gaby Daby. The mens ended up as an epic match between the up and coming Tom Oliver (our current junior champ), and our reigning champion Zane Moran. The match lasted over three hours, with every point drawing applause. Zane won in the end, but I’m sure Tom will be back challenging again next year after a gutsy effort and taking the first set off Zane.

It was fantastic to have more entries in the B division this year – the championships is supposed to be a bit of fun as well as a serious competition at the top level, and the range of winners reflects the healthy depth of tennis at the club:

·       Mens doubles: Sean Adelt & John Paxman

·       Ladies doubles: Paula Wood & Alex Hoschke

·       Mixed doubles A: Leanne Davy & Gaby Davy

·       Mixed doubles B: Susan Morris & Neil Elliot

·       Ladies singles: Alicia Kluck, 2nd Gaby Davy

·       Mens singles: Zane Moran, 2nd Tom Oliver


The club would like to thank Slater Gartrell for their sponsorship of the prizes, and Glen Whisson for his usual calmness and efficiency in organizing the draw and making the weekend run smoothly. For lots of pics of the day see our facebook site